…regarding New Year’s Eve

If New Year’s Eve and Valentine’s Day were in the same month, I think most people would commit suicide then.  It’s too much pressure.  You have to find the right party, the perfect outfit, a fabulous date.  And then if you’re single, that dreaded midnight hour!  Do you high-five someone?  Hug a couple amidst their smooch?  Pucker up and kiss that weirdo who’s been eying you all night?  (Hint: NOT the last one!)

Last year's NYE photo op backstage. Stay tuned for this year's pics. It will be a shocking transformation...

Frankly, there is no right answer.  The best approach might be the most subtle – the NED (nervous eye dart).  It’s such a classic and versatile move.  You can pull it out in pretty much any uncomfortable situation, and if your life is anything like mine, you live somewhere between awkward, embarrassed and unbelievable.  It’s exciting and dangerous.  As an added bonus, if someone asks you what happened on NYE, you can just say it involved NED and you don’t want to talk about it.  Instant mystery.  You’re welcome.

Happy New Year!

*Ashley v. 2010

P.S. Do you need a New Year’s resolution?  Subscribe to our blog and read every post!  🙂

6 Responses to …regarding New Year’s Eve

  1. Courtney says:

    Someone might even think Ned is some guy you met, even more mystery!

  2. Right, that was kind of my whole point. 🙂

  3. Courtney says:

    Haha, and here I thought I was clever. Oops!

  4. bethro says:

    So, I re-read this right before I posted, and I realized how terribly upsetting your first sentence is. I’m not sure whether I’m more bothered by its contents or the fact that I am so desensitized I happily skimmed over it the first time.

  5. […] as normal as possible which probably means when asked about “the date” we would sweat, NED and snort laugh. Things never worked out with my date’s brother and I…or his friend. […]

  6. […] awkward silence even more devastating. How do I move on? I don’t. I just make it worse with NED, sweating and attempting to bring up topics that only support my idiocy: sports (I recently […]

Leave a Reply

